Fair Media Council Names News Legends of 2024

Plus: Associated Press to Receive Distinguished Service Award

Jaci Clement
5 min readMay 31, 2024

The Fair Media Council’s highly anticipated Folio Awards, the buzzy, most prestigious media event on Long Island, will take place at the historic Garden City Hotel, Garden City, N.Y., on June 7 from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

FMC’s Folio Awards is the gold standard for the modern media landscape.

“This year, three outstanding journalists will be receiving Lifetime Achievement Awards and earn the distinction of news legend from FMC,” said Jaci Clement, CEO and Executive Director of the Fair Media Council. “It’s the media that shape our world, and the Fair Media Council’s work — to advocate for quality news and work to create a media-savvy society in a media-driven world — has never been more important. The Folio Awards celebrate the best in media, and amplify what the public wants from the media.”

The following 2024 News Legends will be recognized:

Lifetime Achievement Awards, Local News: Rita Ciolli, Editorial Page Editor, Newsday

With a career spanning over five decades at Newsday, Ms. Ciolli witnessed the events that shaped today’s Long Island. Along the way, she paved a path for women to pursue careers in news. Now, her work influences the public conversation on issues most important to Long Islanders.

Lifetime Achievement Award, Regional News: Sandy Kenyon, Entertainment Reporter at WABC-TV and Entertainment Consultant for ABC

Sandy Kenyon will be honored for his coverage of arts and culture, and his storytelling abilities that enabled viewers to escape into the world of entertainment. An icon who has covered the New York and Hollywood beat since the 1980s, Mr. Kenyon developed his signature Hollywood Minute reports while working as CNN’s chief entertainment correspondent. If you’ve ever enjoyed a New York cab ride, it’s most likely due to Sandy’s storytelling skills: His reports and reviews have been seen not only on WABC-TV but also in thousands of taxi cabs.

Lifetime Achievement Award, National News: Michael Powell, Staff Writer, The Atlantic

Known for smart reporting and exceptional writing, Mr. Powell’s work takes readers inside major current events. He likes to point out that he has “covered poverty, sociopathic mayors — Giuliani and Marion Barry — and Presidents from Bill Clinton to Obama.” He is well-known for writing the Gotham Column on New York City and the Sports of the Times column while he was at The New York Times. Mr. Powell has also worked at the Washington Post and New York Newsday. He has been part of teams that won some of journalism’s top honors, including the Pulitzer Prize and the Polk Award.

Key Event Highlight:

Distinguished Service Award Honoree: The Associated Press

The AP began as a nonprofit cooperative in 1846, delivering news via Pony Express. Today, over 4 billion people read AP journalism every day.

“The AP continues to be an innovative leader in news, and its work is integral to understanding the world, especially at a time when individual news outlets are grappling with limited resources,” said Jaci Clement, CEO and Executive Director of the Fair Media Council. “The current atmosphere within the media industry combined with the intensity of world events make the Associated Press’s work ever more important, which is why we are recognizing the AP with FMC’s Distinguished Service Award. All the world will be watching the AP’s election coverage.”

Accepting the award on behalf of AP is Paul Haven, Vice President and head of global newsgathering. Mr. Haven is in charge of more than 1200 reporters, photographers, and video journalists in the United States and across the globe. He was the AP’s bureau chief for Afghanistan and Pakistan, Iberia, and Cuba before serving as news director for Latin America and the Caribbean.

What Sets the Folio Awards Apart?

The Folio Awards stand out for their commitment to amplifying the community’s voice. Unlike other media honors, the judging process evaluates quality and considers the impact on the public. Judges are community leaders as well as former journalists, and the process illustrates how to recognize quality news stories and outstanding social media. Awarded works serve the community’s interest, convenience, and necessity. Whether investigative reporting, impactful storytelling, or innovative social media campaigns, the Folio Awards recognize excellence that truly matters.

Networking and Inspiration:

Attendees can network during the reception, exchange ideas, and build lasting relationships. The energy and knowledge exchange at the Folio Awards are unparalleled. In fact, earning a Folio has resulted in job offers and promotions. Attending the Folio Awards has resulted in students securing internships and community leaders scoring media interviews.

Community Engagement:

The Folio Awards are more than an event; they’re a movement. Attendees will be able to connect with fellow professionals, share ideas, and collaborate on initiatives that serve to strengthen democracy and advance FMC’s work for a media-savvy society.

Registration Details

All are welcome to attend, and advance registration is required. Visit FMC’s website at www.fairmediacouncil.org/folio-awards to secure sponsorships, tickets, and magazine ads. Don’t miss this chance to celebrate the best in media, and support the Fair Media Council’s mission for responsible, responsive media and a media-literate society.

About the Folio Awards: The Fair Media Council Folio Awards began more than 40 years ago and have become the gold standard for the modern media landscape. A cornerstone of the Fair Media Council’s work, the Folio Awards celebrate quality news, impactful reporting, and community engagement. Learn more at www.fairmediacouncil.org.



Jaci Clement

Considered the most influential media scholar in the world today, Jaci Clement has been working for and with news media since the fourth grade.